CLT-UFA appoints Jacques Santer as new Chairman of the Board; Gaston Thorn retires

Luxembourg, 18 May 2004 – Following the decision by Gaston Thorn to retire from some of his non-executive roles, the Board of CLT-UFA, which is a subsidiary of RTL Group, today announces the resignation of Gaston Thorn as Chairman of the Board and the appointment of Jacques Santer as the new Chairman.

Before Gaston Thorn became Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of CLT in 1987, he was Member of the European Parliament (1959-1969), President of the 30th session of the General Assembly of the United Nations (1975-1976), Prime Minister of Luxembourg (1974 - 1979) and President of the European Commission (1981-1985). In 1977 he was awarded the Robert Schuman Prize. After the merger of CLT and UFA in 1997, he was appointed Chairman of the Board of CLT-UFA, a post he has held until today.

Jacques Santers’ distinguished career covers a variety of political roles including Member of the European Parliament (1974-1979 and 1999-2004), Prime Minister of Luxembourg (1984 -1995) and President of the European Commission (1995-1999).

Gerhard Zeiler, Chief Executive Officer of RTL Group, says: “We are very grateful to Gaston Thorn for the huge contribution he has made to the company over the last 17 years. He has played an active role in the development of the company into Europe’s leading television and radio broadcaster and content provider for which we are very grateful. I am delighted that Jacques Santer has decided to take on the role as Chairman of the Board of CLT-UFA. I am sure that he will provide valuable help and advice as we continue to develop the Group over the coming years”.

About CLT-UFA:

CLT-UFA SA is a subsidiary of RTL Group, Europe's number one in TV, radio and content with interests in 26 TV and 24 radio stations in nine countries and content production throughout the world. CLT-UFA SA has interests in radio and tv channels including the tv channels RTL Television, VOX and RTLII in Germany, M6 in France, RTL TVi  in Belgium, RTL 4, RTL 5 and Yorin in the Netherlands, RTL Télé Lëtzebuerg in Luxembourg and the radio channels RTL and Fun Radio in France, Bel RTL and Radio Contact in Belgium, Antenne Bayern and Radio NRW in Germany and Yorin FM in the Netherlands. It also owns the technical service provider BCE and the programme distribution activity CLT-UFA International based in Luxembourg. CLT-UFA SA has been allocated with national and international TV and radio broadcasting licenses by the Luxembourgish government.



For further enquiries:

Andrew Buckhurst
RTL Group
Phone: 00352/ 2486-5130