RTL Group Board Changes

Luxembourg, 13 December 2011 – RTL Group today acknowledges the resignation of Hartmut Ostrowski from its Board of Directors with effect from 31 December 2011. The resignation follows changes in the Bertelsmann AG Executive Board. Hartmut Ostrowski has been a member of the RTL Group Board and of the Nomination and Compensation Committee since 2008.

The RTL Group Board coopted Thomas Hesse (45), designated member of the Bertelsmann AG Executive Board. Replacing Mr. Ostrowski, he will be joining the RTL Group Board as non-executive director as from 1 January 2012. His appointment will be presented at the next Annual General Meeting (AGM) for ratification.

Siegfried Luther, Chairman of the Board of Directors of RTL Group, said: “We are happy to welcome Thomas Hesse, as RTL Group will benefit from his high level of expertise and a profound understanding of the digital media world.”

The Board thanks Mr. Ostrowski for his contribution in building RTL Group’s strong position and for loyal services as member of the Board of Directors.

As of 1 January 2012, the RTL Group Board of Directors will comprise the following members:

Non-executive Directors

Siegfried Luther, Chairman of the Board of Directors of RTL Group

Günther Grüger, Executive Vice President Corporate Controlling and Strategy, Bertelsmann AG

Thomas Hesse**, designated member of the Bertelsmann AG Executive Board; currently President, Global Digital Business, US Sales & Corporate Strategy,
Sony Music Entertainment

Thomas Rabe, designated Chairman of the Executive Board and Chief Executive Officer, Bertelsmann AG; currently Chief Financial Officer and Head of the Corporate Centre, Bertelsmann AG

Jacques Santer*, Chairman of the Board of CLT-UFA, Former Prime Minister of the Luxembourg Government and Former President of the European Commission

James Singh*, Chairman of the Audit Committee of RTL Group, Chief Financial Officer of Nestlé

Martin Taylor*, Vice Chairman of the Board of RTL Group, Chairman of the Nomination and Compensation Committee of RTL Group, Chairman of Syngenta

Executive Director

Gerhard Zeiler, Chief Executive Officer of RTL Group and Member of the Bertelsmann AG Executive Board

*independent directors; ** subject to AGM approval


For further enquiries please contact:

Oliver Herrgesell
Corporate Communications
Phone: +352/2486 5200
Investor Relations
Andrew Buckhurst
Investor Relations
Phone: +352/2486 5074

About RTL Group
RTL Group is the leading European entertainment network, with interests in 41 television channels and 34 radio stations in 10 countries and content production throughout the world. The television portfolio of Europe’s largest broadcaster includes RTL Television in Germany, M6 in France, the RTL channels in the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Croatia and Hungary, Alpha TV in Greece, and Antena 3 in Spain – the company also has interests in National Media Group in Russia. RTL Group’s flagship radio station is RTL in France, and it also owns or has interests in other stations in France, Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, Spain and Luxembourg. RTL Group’s content production arm, FremantleMedia, is one of the largest international producers outside the US. Each year, it produces 9,500 hours of programming across 54 countries.